Our Campus

West Virginia University Robert C. Byrd Health Sciences Center

The West Virginia University Robert C. Byrd Health Sciences Center consists of five schools – Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, and Public Health. About 3,300 undergraduate and graduate students learn on our three campuses in Morgantown, Charleston, and Martinsburg. Additionally, the School of Nursing offers its four-year Bachelor of Science in Nursing on the Beckley campus.

An academic home to more than 1,000 faculty members, WVU Health Sciences is committed to education, research, service and patient care. The five health schools share a common goal: to educate the next generation of healthcare providers, biomedical researchers and health policy leaders for West Virginia.

Across its schools, the HSC offers 47 degree and certificate programs and 50 medical and dental residency and fellowship programs.

An aerial photograph of the Health Sciences campus, with J.W. Ruby Memorial Hospital in the foreground and the Health Sciences Center behind it.

One of three campuses in Morgantown, the Health Sciences Center is the primary teaching and research center for the health professions schools. The campus also includes Ruby Memorial Hospital and other clinical facilities associated with WVU Medicine, all of which serve as teaching locations for our students. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention operates a major occupational health research facility on this campus.

Charleston, Health Sciences Center

The Charleston Division of the WVU Health Sciences Center is a clinical campus of the larger Health Sciences Center in Morgantown.  The Charleston Division was formed in 1972 as part of a federal rural health initiative designed to expand health professions’ education beyond the traditional campus. Faculty of the Charleston Division of the School of Nursing participate online with faculty in Morgantown to offer RN-BSN, MSN, DNP, and PhD degrees. Students in southern West Virginia may enroll on the Charleston campus in order to attend on-campus events and workshops closer to home.

A photo of the front of the Health Sciences Center building in Charleston.

WVU Beckley Campus/WVU Tech

A campus within the West Virginia University system, WVU Tech offers more than 40 different academic degrees and is located in Montgomery, West Virginia. The WVU School of Nursing offers its traditional, 4-year Bachelor of Science in Nursing on the Beckley campus. Additionally, our faculty on this campus also teach the online RN-BSN program.

The program works closely with Charleston Area Medical Center (CAMC), Thomas Health Systems, Highland Hospital, Raleigh General Hospital and local agencies to provide clinical training opportunities for nursing students in all years of study.